Articles worth reading

Jurors review key testimony in trial of Jerry Sandusky

access_time June 22, 2012

As a sequestered jury deliberates the fate of Jerry Sandusky, his adopted son said he was one of the former

Samsung Galaxy S3 phone ‘explodes’ in a user’s car

access_time June 22, 2012

The user, from Ireland, said the phone ‘exploded’ while charging in his car ‘It could have burned the side of

NEEDLES found in sandwiches on four U.S.-bound Delta flights

access_time July 17, 2012

Needles found in sandwiches on four flights originating from Amsterdam’s Schiphol Airport on Sunday One passenger injured on plane to

Methodist Church Ghana

Methodist Church Ghana

Methodist Church Ghana

access_time November 22, 2011 chat_bubble_outline 56 comments
shareShare this post

The Methodist Church Ghana is one of the largest and oldest Protestant denominations in Ghana. It traces its roots back to the landing of Rev. Joseph Dunwell on 1 January 1835 in Cape Coast, Ghana. Rev. Thomas Birch Freeman, another missionary, emerged as the father of Methodism in West Africa, taking the Christian message beyond Cape Coast to the Ashanti Kingdom, Nigeria, and other parts of the region.

After serving as a district in the British Methodist Conference, the Methodist Church Ghana attained full independence on July 28, 1961. It adopted an episcopal structure at the Koforidua Conference in August 1999. Currently, the Methodist Church Ghana has 15 dioceses headed by bishops. Between 2003 and March 2008, 406 new congregations were started and ministry was initiated in Burkina Faso.

The current Presiding Bishop is the Most Reverend Prof Emmanuel Asante, the third presiding bishop and the tenth person to lead the Methodist Church Ghana. The administrative bishop is the Right Reverend Kow B. Egyir, and the lay president is Araba Ata Sam.
Presidents and Presiding Bishops of the Methodist Church Ghana

Francis C.F. Grant (1961–1966)
T. Wallace Koomson (1966–1973)
Charles K. Yamoah (1973–1977)
C. Awotwi Pratt (1977–1979)
Samuel B. Essamuah (1979–1984)
C. Awotwi Pratt (2nd time) (1984–1985)
Jacob S.A. Stephens (1985–1990)
Kwesi A. Dickson (1990–1997)
Samuel Asante Antwi (last president and 1st presiding bishop) (1997–2003)
Robert Aboagye-Mensah (2003–2009)
Emmanuel Asante (2009–present)

READ ALSO:   Presbyterian Church of Ghana
shareShare this post
folder_openAssigned tags
content_copyCategorized under


comment No comments yet

You can be first to leave a comment

Submit an answer

Only registered users can comment.